Narendra Modi awarded Legion of Merit: Military honour is first US medal to be awarded to residents of different international locations


The Legion of Merit was instituted in 1942 by former United States president Franklin D Roosevelt,

File picture of Narendra Modi. PTI

The Legion of Merit, awarded by United States president Donald Trump to Narendra Modi on Monday, is the most recent amongst a number of worldwide honours bestowed on the prime minister since 2014.

Taranjit Singh Sandhu, India’s Ambassador to the US, accepted the award on behalf of the prime minister from National Security Advisor Robert O’Brien on the White House.

The award was additionally offered to Japanese prime minister Shinzo Abe and Australian prime minister Scott Morrison

President Trump “awarded the Legion of Merit to Japanese prime minister Shinzo Abe for his leadership and vision for a free and open Indo-Pacific,” O’Brien stated.

Trump awarded the Legion of Merit to Australian prime minister Morrison for his management in addressing world challenges and selling collective safety, O’Brien tweeted.

Together, India, the US, Australia and Japan represent the ‘Quad’ group of nations, which has been seen as a counter to Chinese dominance within the Indo-Pacific area.

What is the Legion of Merit?

The Legion of Merit was instituted in 1942 by former US president Franklin D Roosevelt, as famous in an article in The Hindu.

The Legion of Merit is the one US navy ornament that has distinct ranks, and the primary US medal to be awarded to residents of different nations, as talked about in an article within the Encyclopedia Britannica.

Although US navy personnel qualify just for the bottom rank of legionnaire, any overseas citizen is eligible for the three larger ranks of officer, commander, and chief commander. These classifications are normally conferred upon overseas officers of excessive rank or on overseas navy advisers.

As per a press release by Ministry of External Affairs: “The Legion of Merit, in the highest degree of the Chief Commander, is a prestigious award conferred by the President of the United States, typically upon Heads of State or Heads of Government of other countries.”

“The award is in recognition of the Prime Minister’s steadfast leadership and vision for India’s emergence as a global power, and exemplary contribution made by him for the advancement of the India-United States strategic partnership and promoting global peace and prosperity,” the MEA further stated.

Previous recipients

Previous recipients of the award include Field Marshal KM Cariappa, who received the Legion of Merit (Degree: Chief Commander) in 1950.

Trump on 18 September awarded the Legion of Merit, Degree Chief Commander, to Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmed Al-Jaber Al-Sabah, the Emir of Kuwait.

Before that, the medal was last awarded in 1991, according to Hindustan Times.

With inputs from PTI

Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here